MLS Cup Glory: Celebrating the Champions – A Comprehensive List of MLS Cup Winners


The Major League Soccer (MLS) Cup is the pinnacle of soccer excellence in North America, showcasing the best of the sport on the continent. Since its inception in 1996, the competition has witnessed thrilling matches, fierce rivalries, and the crowning of deserving champions. In this blog post, we’ll take a trip down memory lane and celebrate the winners of the MLS Cup, highlighting the teams that have etched their names in soccer history.

The Genesis of MLS Cup Glory

Table: List of MLS Cup Winners (1996-2022)

1996D.C. UnitedLos Angeles Galaxy3-2
1997D.C. UnitedColorado Rapids2-1
1998Chicago FireD.C. United2-0
1999D.C. UnitedLos Angeles Galaxy2-0
2000Kansas City WizardsChicago Fire1-0
2001San Jose EarthquakesLos Angeles Galaxy2-1
2002Los Angeles GalaxyNew England Revolution1-0
2003San Jose EarthquakesChicago Fire4-2
2004D.C. UnitedKansas City Wizards3-2
2005Los Angeles GalaxyNew England Revolution1-0
2006Houston DynamoNew England Revolution1-1 (4-3 PKs)
2007Houston DynamoNew England Revolution2-1
2008Columbus CrewNew York Red Bulls3-1
2009Real Salt LakeLos Angeles Galaxy1-1 (5-4 PKs)
2010Colorado RapidsFC Dallas2-1
2011Los Angeles GalaxyHouston Dynamo1-0
2012Los Angeles GalaxyHouston Dynamo3-1
2013Sporting Kansas CityReal Salt Lake1-1 (7-6 PKs)
2014Los Angeles GalaxyNew England Revolution2-1
2015Portland TimbersColumbus Crew2-1
2016Seattle SoundersToronto FC0-0 (5-4 PKs)
2017Toronto FCSeattle Sounders2-0
2018Atlanta UnitedPortland Timbers2-0
2019Seattle SoundersToronto FC3-1
2020Columbus CrewSeattle Sounders3-0
2021New York City FCPortland Timbers4-2

Historic Moments and Memorable Victories

The MLS Cup has provided fans with numerous iconic moments, from D.C. United’s early dominance to the recent successes of expansion teams like Atlanta United and New York City FC. Notable highlights include the thrilling penalty shootout victories, last-minute goals, and the emergence of soccer powerhouses in the league.


As we eagerly await the crowning of the next MLS Cup champion, let’s take a moment to appreciate the rich history and diverse narratives that have unfolded on the soccer fields across North America. The list of MLS Cup winners serves as a testament to the growth and success of Major League Soccer, showcasing the talent, passion, and dedication of the teams that have etched their names in the annals of soccer history.